Happiness is…

…insert what makes you happy here; there is no right/wrong answer

This time off work over the festive period has really slowed me down. When Blackie was around I would, today, be on the yard for as many hours as possible until the cold got too much. Making him happy made me happy. To make him happy was simple; food, friendship and a run around made his day. In the days he wasn’t poorly I’d often just lay out in his field with him, just being near him made me happy. I could see him move, see how he interacted with the world and just know I had a friend there. In my head I would make up what he was thinking and, in hindsight I can see that I’ve used the “way he looked at the world” to develop my own ways of dealing with it too.

He made me happy

Today I have to learn to treasure the memories of him; to remember the happiness. I have to learn to remember I was the luckiest girl in the world to have a brilliant friend; I still am the luckiest girl in the world to have known him.

It isn’t clear to me whether it is losing Blackie or me growing up but I’m learning that it truly is the simple things in life that can make you happy. It is so cold outside, I have a roof over my head, food in my fridge and heat in my radiators. If I need a friend I have ample I can always call on. How can anyone be sad when they look at this picture of my other little nutcase…

/home/wpcom/public_html/wp-content/blogs.dir/83f/77191738/files/2014/12/img_0525.jpg

Treasuring moments with friends is the best therapy. Yet I still think it’s beneficial to be just as happy by myself; alone time lets you just stop.

I need to remember to do the simple things in life. Cook, spend a day making a meal for friends. Read, escape from my mind-worries in a book.
Time goes by so very very quickly, if you are not happy what is the point? I dislike my job, I’m going to change it. I dislike my situation, I’m going to change it. I’m going to go for a run. I need to remember to be happy within myself; no one else is going to do it for me.

Yes the most truly awful thing happened when I lost my world, now I just have to learn to live in a new world and find a different form of happiness.

Wheels

Leave a comment